Leo's Website
About Me
Homepage
About me
About site
Contact

INDEX
Books
Films
Music
Photos
Int Fiction
Favourites
Playing IF
Writing IF
History
Companies
MUDs
Retrogaming
BBC
Spectrum
C64
Amiga
Arcade
PC
Other
Programming
Misc
Links

I was born on 31 March 1974 in Reading, Berkshire, UK. My mother was Cherrie Bramwell, a palaeontologist working at the University of Reading specializing in the study of the flight mechanics of Pteranodon (a kind of pterosaur, often confused with pterodactyls). My father was Bob Speer, a physics lecturer and researcher into spectroscopy, who worked at Imperial College London.

We moved to Maidenhead (also in Berkshire) when I was a toddler and my parents separated soon after. I grew up with my mother in Maidenhead in an old bungalow (called, appropriately enough, The Bungalow) with a big garden and visited my dad at weekends. My best childhood friends with Keith Kildare and Robert Harding. I went to Lowbrook Primary School and then Desborough comprehensive. Happy days.

I studied for a year at The Henley College, a sixth form college, in Henley-on-Thames over the border in Oxfordshire, and then at Windsor & Maidenhead College (another sixth form college, now called East Berkshire College) but I wasn't mature or interested enough to pursue an education and left after a year. I got a job at Waitrose (an upmarket UK supermarket chain) in Maidenhead and stayed there for about four years.

Having developed a fascination for the countryside and ancient mysteries of Wiltshire (Stonehenge, Avebury, white horses, crop circles etc) and itching to move away from my home town I transferred to the Waitrose in Marlborough, Wilts, and lived in Chippenham, about twenty miles to the west. Every day I used to drive along the A4 past Silbury Hill and the Cherhill white horse.

A couple of years or so later, in 1997, wanting a complete change of scene (ah! fickle youth) I moved to Exeter, Devon, and lived with my mother for a while who had moved there a few years previously. I have lived there ever since. For the next twelve years I continued to work in various supermarkets. Getting fed up with retail I decided to move into more admin/office-based work and did various stints as a temporary contractor for BT, South West Water and The Insolvency Service.

I am single and have no children (never appealed to me). I am currently temping in an admin support role.

Hobbies: I am a total computer geek. I love the Web and enjoy programming, especially interactive fiction. I am an unashamed retrogamer. When I'm not glued to my keyboard I like reading (especially science fiction and fantasy), writing my diary, and to avoid being a total blob i go cycling and swimming.


Leo - 6 November 2016